Waxwork Records Presents HOUSE Original Picture Soundtrack

HAUSU reissued for the first time since its 1977 debut on glorious two-color split with splatter-colored vinyl.

By Angel Melanson · @HorrorGirlProbs · October 21, 2022, 12:00 PM EDT
Artwork by Jake Foreman

Bring the HOUSE Original Motion Picture Soundtrack into your house, courtesy of Waxwork Records. Also known as HAUSU, Nobuhiko Obayashi's 1977 experimental Japanese horror film follows a schoolgirl and six of her friends as they travel to the countryside to stay with her ailing aunt. Things get weird. Real weird. Real quick. The girls come face to face with supernatural events as they meet their demise, one by one, devoured by the home.

In honor of the film's 45th anniversary, Wawork presents the soundtrack officially for the first time outside of Japan and reissued for the first time since its 1977 debut. Featuring original music by Asei Kobayashi, Mickie Yoshino, and Yoshino’s Japanese rock band, Godiego. The now classic soundtrack effectively lures listeners into a false sense of security. Beginning with upbeat pop-sing-a-longs and jovial tracks such as “Buggie Boogie” and “Cherries Were Made For Eating”, the soundtrack slowly transforms into a dark sonic landscape of chaos and psychedelia. The second half of the soundtrack offers a juxtaposed tone that sets the stage for dismemberment, man-eating pianos, flashing colors, hallucinatory visions, and gallons of blood seen in the film.

The two-color split with splatter-colored vinyl reflects the wild nature of the movie (and the sounds). Take a look at this beauty!


In a successful attempt to attract younger audiences, Obayashi asked Yoshino to include tracks from his rock band Godiego, which also makes a cameo in the movie. Fusing elements of funk, jazz, rock, and romantic ballads, the soundtrack captures the absurd and whimsical nature that is HOUSE, contrasted with its experimental scenes of horror and madness.


Complete with 180-gram two-color split with splatter-colored vinyl, deluxe packaging, new artwork by Jake Foreman, heavyweight gatefold jackets with matte coating, a 12”x12” art print, and more!

HOUSE Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Features:

  • The Complete 1977 Soundtrack Album
  • Released For The Very First Time Outside Of Japan
  • Reissued For The First Time Since Its 1977 Debut
  • 180 Gram Countryside Green & Yellow Split with Pink and Sky Blue Splatter Colored Vinyl
  • New Artwork by Jake Foreman
  • Heavyweight Gatefold Packaging with Matte Satin Coating
  • 12"x12" Art Print

Hausu Packhot 1b




Head over to the Waxwork Records site and order your copy.